The Harvey M. Applebaum '59 Award is conferred on a Yale College senior for an outstanding essay based on research done in the Yale University Library's government documents collections. The prize is an award of $500.

This prize was established in 2008 by the daughters of Harvey M. Applebaum, class of 1959, in honor of his 70th birthday. Mr. Applebaum is a senior counsel, specializing in international trade and antitrust law, with the Washington firm of Covington & Burling LLP and a lecturer at the University of Virginia School of Law. He is a past Chairman of the Association of Yale Alumni and the Yale Alumni Magazine board.

To be eligible, senior essays must have substantive use of one of the following collections:

* United States federal government
* Canadian federal government
*European Union (but not include government information from individual member countries)
*United Nations
* Food and Agriculture Organization

The submission deadline for 2020 has closed. The deadline for 2021 will be announced in the Spring 2021. Please contact Kenya Flash, Government Information Librarian at the Marx Library, with any questions about the Applebaum Award.

View submission guidelines.

View complete list of previous winning essays.

Submit your essay for consideration.

Senior essayists will also need to submit a statement explaining how they found out about the award and explaining their use of any of these collections in their essay. Statements may include phrases such as "the resource I used is central to my argument because...," "the variety of government documents used in my paper allowed me to...", and "this document best demonstrates the thinking of..."


Prize Winners from 2014


The UN and the Congo Crisis of 1960, Nicole Hobbs