The Yale Library offers the Diane Kaplan Memorial Senior Essay Prize. Each year up to three undergraduate student prizes are awarded in memory of our colleague Diane E. Kaplan, who was instrumental in making these prizes available to Yale College seniors. The prizes are for an outstanding senior essay, on any topic, based substantially on research done in one or more of the Yale Library's special collections, which includes: Arts Library Special Collections, Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library (including Manuscripts and Archives), Divinity Library Special Collections, Lewis Walpole Library, Medical Historical Library, Music Library Special Collections, and the Yale Film Archive.

For more information see the prize website.

Prize-winning essays from previous years are available below. Prior to 2022 this prize was given for significant use of the collections of Manuscripts and Archives, Sterling Memorial Library, only.


Essays from 2015


The True University: Yale's Library from 1843 to 1931, Elizabeth D. James


Insurgent Labor Activists at Yale, 1968-1971, Raymond L. Noonan III